Green Left Party held its 4th Grand Congress: Co-Chairs and Party Name Changed

Our constituent party, the Green Left Party (Yeşil Sol Parti), held its 4th grand congress today in Ankara, with the participation of tens of thousands of people from across the country.

During the congress, the Green Left Party's name was changed to HEDEP (Halkların Eşitlik ve Demokrasi Partisi / Peoples' Equality and Democracy Party), and new co-chairs and central party officials were elected.

Prior to the congress, the party sought the opinions of its voters and affiliated organizations. Over the past months, the party organized workshops, conducted more than 900 public meetings, and visited nearly 2,000 families, institutions, and individuals from various segments of society. Name suggestions for the co-chairs were also collected from the attendees during these public meetings.

The congress hall today was adorned with banners bearing the slogans "Jin Jiyan Azadî," "Democratic Solution to the Kurdish Issue," "Democratic Constitution," "Let Kurdish Language Become Official," "The Third Path is the Path to Resolution," "No to Isolation, Peace Now," "Change the System, Not the Climate," and "A New Life for People with Disabilities."

Representatives from political parties, labor organizations, and faith groups in Turkey, as well as representatives from political parties in Morocco, Lebanon, Spain's Catalonia and Basque regions, France, Switzerland, Sweden, Germany, Iceland, Norway, the parliamentarians from the European Parliament, and representatives from the Friedrich Ebert Foundation Turkey and the Heinrich Böll Foundation Turkey were in attendance at the congress.

At the congress, Co-Spokespersons Çiğdem Kılıçgün Uçar and İbrahim Akın, along with Co-Chair candidates Tülay Hatimoğulları and Tuncer Bakırhan, delivered speeches.

Following the elections held at the end of the congress, Ms. Tülay Hatimoğulları and Mr. Tuncer Bakırhan were elected as the party's co-chairs, and a new Party Assembly was established.

Additionally, the party name and constitution have changed.

15 Ekim 2023